Board of Trustees

Contact the Board

Lori Yonemitsu, Board secretary

Board news




Legal power and responsibility for the operation of Shoreline Community College rests with the board of trustees. The trustees establish and review college policies and oversee the general management of funds and properties.


The board is composed of five trustees who are appointed by the governor of Washington and confirmed by the Senate. The trustees represent the public interest and ensure the basic fiscal integrity of the college.


Members of the Board

Tom Lux, Chair

Appointed: November 2013. Trustee Lux recently retired as an administrator with the International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers (IAM) union. Lux managed a joint labor/management team of program managers and career advisors that developed training opportunities and assisted Boeing hourly workers with their career paths.


Catherine D'Ambrosio, Vice Chair

Appointed: November 2013. Trustee D'Ambrosio teaches at the University of Washington School of Nursing and is a  nursing analyst at Virginia Mason Medical Center. She also operates a home health-care agency serving medically intensive children.


Phil Barrett

Appointed: March 2010. Trustee Barrett is a retired software executive, a strong supporter of public schools and volunteers at his children's school.


Note: The Board currently has two open seats