More information

Office of the Executive Vice President of Student Learning and Success
16101 Greenwood Ave. N.
Shoreline, WA 98133

Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities
8060 165th
Avenue N.E., Suite 100
Redmond, WA 98052

Shoreline Community College is accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities. Accreditation of an institution of higher education by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities indicates that it meets or exceeds criteria for the assessment of institutional quality evaluated through a peer review process. An accredited college or university is one which has available the necessary resources to achieve its stated purposes through appropriate educational programs, is substantially doing so, and gives reasonable evidence that it will continue to do so in the foreseeable future. Institutional integrity is also addressed through accreditation.

Accreditation by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities is not partial but applies to the institution as a whole. As such, it is not a guarantee of every course or program offered, or the competence of individual graduates. Rather, it provides reasonable assurance about the quality of opportunities available to students who attend the institution.

Accreditation status

Shoreline Community College was granted initial accreditation by Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) in 1966 and has had successful compliance ever since. Shoreline's accreditation was most recently reaffirmed on Feb. 3, 2012 in a letter from the NWCCU following submission of its Comprehensive Report .

For a college to remain continuously accredited, NWCCU requires ongoing, thorough self-evaluation on a seven-year cycle.

1)  Mission and Core Themes

Conducted in the first 18 months of the seven‐year accreditation cycle, this self-evaluation focuses on assessment and continuous improvement related to the College's Mission and Core Themes

On Sept. 16, 2013, Shoreline submitted its Year One Self-Evaluation Report as the Mission and Core Themes self-evaluation, and received a confirmation letter


The accreditation process is a seven-year cycle. 

  • Year 1 - Mission and Core Themes
    • Standard One: Mission and core themes
  • Year 3 - Mid-Cycle
    • Standard Two:  Resources and capacity
  • Year 7 - Mission Fullfillment
    • Standard 3: Planning and implementation
    • Standard 4: Effectiveness and improvement
    • Standard 5: Mission fulfillment, adaptation and sustainability

Other program-specific accreditations

Nursing: Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing Inc. (ACEN)
Dental Hygiene: Commission on Dental Accreditation
HIIM: Commission on Accreditation of Health Informatics & Information Management Education
Medical Laboratory Technology:        National Accrediting Agency for Clinical Laboratory Sciences
Automotive: National Automobile Technicians Education Foundation

 Accreditation Reports
Below are links to the college's recent accreditation reports and action letters.