### Strategic Planning & Budget Committee Minutes

June 3, 2015 - 3:00pm

Room: 9201

Chair: Guy Hamilton\*

Vice-Chair: Samira Pardanani\*

Note-taker: Julie Bathke\*

Administrative/Exempt

Mary Kelemen\*
Chris Melton
Samira Pardanani\*
David Pinter\*
Veronica Zura\*

**Faculty** 

Shana Calaway\*
Guy Hamilton\*
Ernest Johnson\*
Amy Kinsel\*
Aura Rios-Erickson\*

**Ex Officio** 

Bayta Maring\* Stuart Trippel **Classified Staff** 

Jennifer Carnahan\* Paul Fernandez Andrea Kuo\*

Ann Martin-Cummins\*

Linda Weir\*

**Students** 

Justin Collins Konstantin Grinev Alicia Lewis Stian Myraas

Guests

Cheryl Roberts\*

Michelle Ogle

Guy Hamilton opened the meeting. President Roberts thanked the committee for their work this year. Guy also thanked the committee members who are at the end of their terms.

I. Approve minutes from meeting on May 20, 2015

The committee approved the minutes as presented. MSP Linda/Amy

II. Strategic Planning Task Force Update

Bayta shared that three of the work groups have had meetings; she mentioned that additional meetings would likely be scheduled. A few committee members that also serve

<sup>\*</sup>indicates attendance

on work groups shared their experiences and feedback in the process so far. Those who shared agreed that additional meetings would be needed in order to complete the tasks of the groups.

The committee discussed the need to keep the campus informed of the process so that people don't become disconnected. There was also a discussion about the coordination with Clarus and upcoming results from the CCSSE survey.

### III. Revised aSAP timeline for 2016-17 Budget Process

Guy distributed a proposed timeline for the 2016-17 budget process. The draft included time to reconcile controversial proposals. The committee voted to approve the timeline; it will be sent to ELT for final approval.

#### IV. Update on Innovation Fund review process 2015-16

Guy reported that ELT should be deciding on all outstanding Innovation Fund proposals at their next meeting. In addition, one of the first tasks for the committee in the Fall will be to formalize the review and closing the loop process for these funds.

David reported that he will work with Julie to publish the new timeline on the Innovation Fund website.

## V. Closing the loop timeline for 2015-16 Budget Process

The group discussed reporting dates for the 2015-16 aSAP fund recipients. It was agreed that it would be beneficial to give the reporting-back dates and expectations to the recipients upon their notification of receiving funds.

The group agreed that dates for reporting to the committee would be October 15<sup>th</sup> and April 22<sup>nd</sup>. There was also a suggestion to create a standard reference tool or manual so that the communication does not rely solely on individuals, such as notification from deans or directors.

Amy, Ann, and Chris will determine questions that aSAP fund recipients will be expected to answer by their reporting deadlines.

### VI. Review 2014-15 aSAPS submitted closing the loop reports

Amy shared that the Closing the Loop subcommittee reviewed 5 reports. Additionally, one was received well after the deadline and was not reviewed. The group discussed the reports

and made suggestions on how to clarify the process for respondents in future years. Amy and Ann will submit requests for more information (via Julie and Guy) to the submitters.

The group also discussed the remaining outstanding requests, as well as ways of measuring success and benchmarks.

### VII. Vote on SPBC Chair and Vice-Chair 2015-16

The group voted to elect Guy Hamilton as Chair and Veronica Zura as Vice-Chair of the 2015-16 committee. MSP Amy/Ann

# VIII. Open Comment

Amy thanked the group for their hard work. Guy added his thanks and noted that people on campus appreciate the work of the committee.

Submitted by Julie Bathke