Direct Transfer Agreement

How your credits transfer within Washington State

The Associate in Arts degree (AA) for the Direct Transfer Agreement (DTA), is an agreement between Washington State Community and Technical Colleges and participating baccalaureate institutions. This is referred to as the "AA-DTA." Washington State colleges and universities that subscribe to the Direct Transfer Agreement include:

  • Bastyr University
  • Central Washington University
  • City University
  • Cornish College of the Arts
  • Eastern Washington University
  • Gonzaga University
  • Heritage College
  • Northwest University
  • Pacific Lutheran University
  • Saint Martin’s University
  • Seattle Pacific University
  • Seattle University
  • The Evergreen State College
  • Trinity Lutheran College
  • University of Washington
  • University of Washington Bothell
  • University of Washington Tacoma
  • Washington State University
  • Washington State University Tri-Cities
  • Washington State University Vancouver
  • Western Washington University
  • Whitworth College

Your credits transfer as a package

The AA—DTA transfers as a package to the colleges and universities above, satisfying most, if not all, of the lower division general education requirements and granting students junior standing. Nevertheless, some baccalaureate colleges and universities may still have unique general education requirements that students will need to complete after transfer. For students who transfer without the AA—DTA, courses will be evaluated on a course-by-course basis by the receiving institution.

The Associate in Arts degree is most often the degree of choice for students who plan to transfer into majors in the humanities and social sciences, as well as education and some health programs. It is also the option of choice for students who are undecided about their academic major.